WINNER OF THE NATIONAL BOOK CRITICS CIRCLE AWARD FOR CRITICISM 2019 From the MAN BOOKER PRIZE- and WOMENS PRIZE-SHORTLISTED author of Changing My Mind and Swing Time – discover a second unmissable collection of essays from Zadie Smith Generous, courageous, and tough-minded… [A] classic English essayist in the vein of Orwell, Woolf and Angela Carter Financial Times Engrossing, astute… Should you read this brilliant book? Absolutely Independent Generous and curious Evening Standard Brilliant, lively and frequently hilarious… Shes one of the brightest minds in English literature today NPR No subject is too fringe or too mainstream for the unstoppable Zadie Smith. From social media to the environment, from Jay-Z to Karl Ove Knausgaard, she has boundless curiosity and the boundless wit to match. In Feel Free, pop culture, high culture, social change and political debate all get the Zadie Smith treatment, dissected with razor-sharp intellect, set brilliantly against the context of the utterly contemporary, and considered with a deep humanity and compassion. This electrifying new collection showcases its author as a true literary powerhouse, demonstrating once again her credentials as an essential voice of her generation.

Published Status

Published

Date Published

07/03/2019