_________________________________ A beautifully realised and thought-provoking thriller. THE TIMES A taut, thrilling runaround GUARDIAN Reminiscent of Robert Harriss high-concept conspiracy thrillers FINANCIAL TIMES _________________________________ A WORLD HALF IN DARKNESS. A SECRET SHE MUST BRING TO LIGHT. 2059. The world has stopped turning. One half suffers an endless frozen night; the other, nothing but burning sun. Only in a slim twilit region between them can life survive. In an isolationist Britain, scientist Ellen Hopper receives a letter from a dying man. It contains a powerful and dangerous secret. One that those in power will kill to conceal… _________________________________ THE LAST DAY: an utterly original debut thriller, perfect for readers who loved Robert Harris Fatherland, Emily St. John Mandels Station 11, and The Wall by John Lanchester. _________________________________ Wonderful: boldly imagined and beautifully written – the best future-shock thriller for years. LEE CHILD A tantalizing, suspenseful odyssey of frustration, deceit, treachery, torture, hope, despair and ingenious sleuthing… Murray has so thoroughly thought through the ramifications of his conceit and conjured up such a dramatic plot and stellar cast of characters that he might have set a new standard for such tales. WASHINGTON POST A stunningly original thriller set in the world of tomorrow that will make you think about whats happening today. HARLAN COBEN I read this hungrily … Its intelligence and bravura characterisation will have you turning page after page. A fabulous achievement. STEPHEN FRY A brilliant debut … Fans of Robert Harris will love it DAILY EXPRESS To say its gripping is an understatement – I cancelled all my weekend plans to finish it SARA PASCOE In his fascinating debut, Murray has crafted something original … an interesting new twist on a post-apocalyptic tale. KIRKUS Downright impossible to stop reading. The science is believable, the near-future world feels as real as our own, the characters are lively, and the plot is suspenseful. A near-perfect alternate-future thriller. BOOKLIST Dark, believable and brilliantly written JENNY COLGAN A thrilling page-turner, and a reminder to treasure our sunsets and sunrises while we still have them. I couldnt put this book down! CHRISTINA DALCHER, author of VOX I loved the premise of this high-concept thriller … a compelling read with some well-placed observations on the darkness of human nature and survival. The Last Day will keep you gripped to the very last page C.J. TUDOR

Published Status

Published

Date Published

06/02/2020