Light Within Us: a heart-wrenching historical family saga set in Cornwall

£9.99

In the golden afternoon of the turn of the century, Edith establishes an artists’ community in Cornwall with her husband Benedict and their friends Clarissa, Dora and old flame, Pascal. But despite their dreams of an idyllic way of life creating beauty by the sea, all is not perfect within their tight-knit community, and secrets threaten to tear apart their paradise. While Dora sacrifices her art to take on an unexpected challenge, Clarissa’s reckless actions result in an illegitimate baby. And when Benedict cruelly abandons Edith, she finds she cannot divorce him if she is to keep her home and children. Throughout it all, Pascal supports Edith as she fights to ensure their community’s future. But what, or who, will she have to sacrifice to fulfil her dream?

In stock

SKU: 9780349422978 Category: Tags: ,

Description

A delightful historical saga which is so beautifully woven together that from the very start I was enchanted‘ Jaffa Reads Too

From the award-winning author of The Apothecary’s Daughter comes a beautifully evocative, family drama, perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore, Lucinda Riley and Elizabeth Jane Howard’s Cazalet Chronicles.

1891. Spindrift House, Cornwall.

Talented painter Edith Fairchild is poised to begin a life of newlywed bliss and artistic creation in the inspiring setting of Spindrift House, freshly inherited by her charming husband, Benedict, and overlooking the stunning harbour of Port Isaac. But when her honeymoon turns sour, her dreams are all but dashed and after a moment of madness and desire she finds herself pregnant with another man’s child.

Edith swears never to tell her secret and devotes herself to her art. Joined at Spindrift House by her friends – Clarissa, Dora and the secret father of her child, Pascal – together they turn the house into a budding artists’ community. But despite their dreams of an idyllic way of life creating beauty by the sea, it becomes clear that all is not perfect within their tight-knit community, and that the weight of their secrets could threaten to tear apart their paradise forever…

Why do readers love Charlotte Betts?

This book was a pleasure to read, from beginning to end. A story in which to lose yourself, and become part of the community… It’s Spindrift House against the world, and you’ll be one of them, every step of the way!‘ Terri Nixon

I loved this book . . . The Light Within Us is a real page-turner, and I’m very much looking forward to reading the next stage of the journey through the lives of those who inhabit Spindrift House. Highly recommended‘ Liz Harris

I can’t even begin to explain how much I loved this book. I really wasn’t expecting to get so invested in these character’s lives… but WOW. I thought this would just be a simple love story, but it is SO MUCH MORE than thatRainy Reads

Written with flair, style and confidence, The Light Within Us . . . touches the heart and lifts the spiritBookish Jottings

The Light Within Us is a book that captivated me from start to finish. Rich in detail, full of passion this is a delightful and fascinating read. I really can’t wait to get my hands on the next book in the trilogyBook Literati

‘Romantic, engaging and hugely satisfying’ Katie Fforde

‘A highly-recommended novel of love, tragedy and the power of art’ Daily Mail

‘I was captivated by this moving, heart-warming and beautifully woven story – gripping, atmospheric, eloquently told and full of rich detail’ Kate Furnivall

Additional information

Weight 0.28 kg
Dimensions 19.6 × 12.6 × 3.4 cm
Author

Publisher
Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

400

Language

English

Edition

1st paperback ed

Dewey

823.92 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K