Sonnets William Shakespeare



In stock (can be backordered)


The Sonnets explore many of Shakespeares most common themes: jealousy, betrayal, melancholy. They ache with unfulfilled longing, and, for many, they are the most complete and moving meditations on love ever written. Part of the Macmillan Collectors Library; a series of stunning, clothbound, pocket sized classics with gold foiled edges and ribbon markers. These beautiful books make perfect gifts or a treat for any book lover. This edition features an afterword by Peter Harness. The Sonnets of William Shakespeare, a cycle of 154 linked poems first published in 1609, are reproduced in full in this Macmillan Collectors Library edition. Filled with ideas about love, beauty and mortality, the sonnets are written in the same beautiful and innovative language that we have come to know from Shakespeares plays. The first 126 sonnets are addressed to a young man known as the Fair Youth, while others are directed at a Rival Poet, and a Dark Lady.

Additional information

Published Status


Date Published