The Burning lights a fire in you – one that makes you want to fight for change and ignite sparks in others so the fire spreads and spreads. – HOLLY BOURNE A rumour is like a fire. You might think youve extinguished it but one creeping, red tendril, one single wisp of smoke is enough to let it leap back into life again. Especially if someone is watching, waiting to fan the flames … New school. Tick. New town. Tick. New surname. Tick. Social media profiles? Erased. Theres nothing to trace Anna back to her old life. Nothing to link her to the incident. At least thats what she thinks … until the whispers start up again. As time begins to run out on her secrets, Anna finds herself irresistibly drawn to the tale of Maggie, a local girl accused of witchcraft centuries earlier. A girl whose story has terrifying parallels to Annas own… The compelling YA debut from Laura Bates, founder of the Everyday Sexism Project and bestselling author of Girl Up. PRAISE FOR THE BURNING: This is a book teen girls NEED to read – Holly Bourne Bold, brutal & hugely important – Abi Elphinstone Defiant and inspiring – Katherine Webber Brilliant – Stylist Essential reading for fans of Holly Bourne and Louise ONeill – The Observer PRAISE FOR GIRL UP: A bracing love letter to todays teenage girls – Sunday Times Essential reading for young women and girls – Morning Star Online This no-nonsense guide to being a girl in 2016 is one all teen girls should read – Red magazine If you have a daughter or a niece or a younger sister or a goddaughter, buy it for them now –The Pool PRAISE FOR EVERYDAY SEXISM: This is an important book -Independent A potent reminder of how far feminism has come and how far it has to go – Kirkus Reviews A game-changing book, a must-read for every woman -Cosmopolitan Funny and clever – Telegraph

Published Status

Published

Date Published

21/02/2019