Tombland C J Sansom

£8.99

Paperback

In stock (can be backordered)

SKU: 9781447284512 Category: Tags: , , ,

Description

Tudor England is brought vividly to life in Tombland, the seventh novel in C. J. Sansoms number one bestselling Shardlake series, for fans of Hilary Mantel and Philippa Gregory. When it comes to intriguing Tudor-based narratives, Hilary Mantel has a serious rival – Sunday Times Sansom has the trick of writing an enthralling narrative. Like Hilary Mantel, he produces densely textured historical novels that absorb their readers in another time – Andrew Taylor, Spectator The Sunday Times Number One Bestseller England, 1549: Two years after the death of Henry VIII, England is sliding into chaos . . . The nominal king, Edward VI, is eleven years old. His uncle Edward Seymour, Duke of Somerset, rules as Protector. The extirpation of the old religion by radical Protestants is stirring discontent among the populace while the Protectors prolonged war with Scotland is proving a disastrous failure and threatens to involve France. Worst of all, the economy is in collapse, inflation rages and rebellion is stirring among the peasantry. Since the old Kings death, Matthew Shardlake has been working as a lawyer in the service of Henrys younger daughter, the Lady Elizabeth. The gruesome murder of Edith Boleyn, the wife of John Boleyn – a distant Norfolk relation of Elizabeths mother – which could have political implications for Elizabeth, brings Shardlake and his assistant Nicholas Overton to the summer assizes at Norwich. There they are reunited with Shardlakes former assistant Jack Barak. The three find layers of mystery and danger surrounding Ediths death, as a second murder is committed. And then East Anglia explodes, as peasant rebellion breaks out across the country. The yeoman Robert Kett leads a force of thousands in overthrowing the landlords and establishing a vast camp outside Norwich. Soon the rebels have taken over the city, Englands second largest. Barak throws in his lot with the rebels; Nicholas, opposed to them, becomes a prisoner in Norwich Castle; while Shardlake has to decide where his ultimate loyalties lie, as government forces in London prepare to march north and destroy the rebels. Meanwhile he discovers that the murder of Edith Boleyn may have connections reaching into both the heart of the rebel camp and of the Norfolk gentry . . . This is the seventh stunning novel in the bestselling Shardlake series, that began with Dissolution. Includes an Historical Essay from the author on Reimagining Ketts Rebellion.

Additional information

Published Status

Published

Date Published

19/09/2019